Reviews of The Golden Bowler Pub & Restaurant

The following reviews are from our locals and welcomed visitors to the Stubbington area…

“This was our first visit in two years due mainly to the dreaded Covid. The Bowler has maintained its high standard of food, service and atmosphere and is still a great place to visit. The food was delicious and there was a good choice of beer. We were served by Sharon who was really friendly and helpful as were all other members of staff. Great to know the high standard from the past has been maintained. We shall return.”
February 2022 – TripAdvisor Review

“I have been coming here for several years for good home cooked lunches. It is always very clean and well kept. The staff are always friendly and helpful.”
February 2022 – TripAdvisor Review

“Very friendly welcome. Excellent pint of Proper Job at a very reasonable price. Superb food – excellent chips! Haven’t visited for over 30 years but will definitely be back very soon.”
December 2021 – TripAdvisor Review

“What a great night. Lovely food the hosts and staff put on a great performance. Christmas carols around the Christmas tree just what you needed at this time of the year. Everyone joined in the singing. We’ll done to all who made it such a wonderful evening. Roll on next Christmas.”
December 2021 – TripAdvisor Review

“What a delight, nice friendly pub just around the corner. Staff so accommodating and a game of bingo thrown in. Will definitely revisit next month.”
Clive – November 2021 – Facebook Review

“We attended a brilliant Bingo night here last night. The service was great; food delicious and we had the best time with friends and family. Good value for money and we’ll be back for sure.”
TripAdvisor Review – October 2021

“Proper pub, great food, lovely people.”
Steven – September 2021 – Facebook Review

“Had a really superb roast dinner, crispy roast potatoes, tasty veg and the beef wow just melted in your mouth. Excellent meal and good service. The other thing I like about The Golden Bowler, it’s easy to park. I will be coming back.”
Nancy – August 2021 – Facebook

“Plenty of outside seating, friendly staff and a good range of food and drink. Great place to stop for a bite or a beer.”
Andy – July 2021 – Google

“Whilst out for a walk in Lee on Solent we decided to give The Bowler a try.. what a great idea. Food & service were all excellent, thanks guys. Will definitely be back again and also well done working in this heat. Nice to see COVID restrictions in place as well and adhered too.”
July 2021 – TripAdvisor

“Very relaxing drink in nice garden and more than happy with all the precautions implemented to combat COVID-19 -very impressed.”
Sean – August 2020 – Facebook

“Our first time of going into a pub since March and what a great experience. We had a table for four and we all felt absolutely safe. Kevin and Georgie have worked so hard to make sure their customers are safe in their pub. Tables well spaced, Perspex dividers at bar and around some tables. All staff wore masks. The food was lovely and great service. Still the old favourites and there were plenty of specials. We will be back very soon!”
Jackie – July 2020 – TripAdvisor 

“Lovely garden, homemade food, all fresh ingredients. Friendly attentive staff. Highly recommend.”
Stacey – July 2019 – Facebook

“Great service and reasonably priced. Noted this establishment does loads for charity also. A fine example of a great British pub which is is not a chain so original. We must keep this type of pub open. Well done all concerned.”
May 2019 – TripAdvisor

“Easy access and parking for large electric wheelchair. Nice and helpful staff. Good food at good prices. Cosy decor and atmosphere.”
Carol – Google

“Took my friend for a birthday dinner, the service was great and food was fantastic. Will definitely be returning.”
Annie – August 2021 – Facebook

“Always a warm welcome.”
Neil – July 2021 – Google

“What a wonderful pub. This isn’t a pretentious plastic chain pub but a really pleasant and homely one. Fantastic food and even better beer. Four real ales on tap when we visited, all sampled and well kept. Friendly team and as this was our first visit, we will be back!”
Richard – Google

“Great night out with friends last night, excellent Covid-19 awareness. Great customer service, so good to see it back open.”
Arron – May 2021 – Facebook

“We went to The Golden Bowler for their Festive Christmas Menu. We were very impressed by the COVID prevention measures in place. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and good value. We felt as ease and were not hastened to vacate after we had finished our meal. There is ample parking and easy access for wheelchairs. Best place to eat in the area. Congratulations to The Golden Bowler.”
Mozz – Google

“Good value food and selection of ale.”
Mike – May 2021 – Facebook

“Went to Burns Night, brilliant! Wonderful food, great hosts and lovely atmosphere.”
Mave – January 2021 – Facebook

“This was one of the first restaurants we visited since lock down and we were truly impressed at the efforts made to ensure guests’ safety. Well done. There was a reduced menu of course with the loss of several of the things we especially liked but that said, we both had a good lunch. It was very quiet. Hope business picks up soon as the Golden Bowler has really made the effort.”
August 2020 – TripAdvisor

“Proper pub , good beer and food. Friendly service and nice atmosphere, no wonder its busy, cannot fault.”
October 2019 – TripAdvisor

“Highly recommend The Golden Bowler. The food is very good, with a varied and reasonably priced menu. A very nice comfortable relaxed environment. The staff are very friendly . Booked a table today for a family meal to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday .Thank you to the staff. Someone brought out the cake, and sung Happy Birthday.”
Denise – April 2018 – Facebook

“Last night we had my Grandads 80th birthday meal in the function room. It was lovely and we all had a lovely time. The staff were very accommodating and made us all welcome. Great food too. Thanks for having us all.”
Lucy – October 2018 – Facebook

“Went to this pub last night for first time with friends. Food excellent, staff very friendly. Lovely old fashioned family run pub, meat draw on Fridays. Brilliant, would recommend this to all.”
Maria – August 2017 – Facebook

“Good beer and good food. Take my Dad there for lunch he loves it.”
Ray – April 2017 – Facebook

“Good food, friendly atmosphere and a Wednesday quiz.”
Google

“Love this pub, very traditional & friendly. Lovely food & great ales.”
Paul – July 2017 – Facebook

“Used this pub restaurant for over 40 years and have NEVER been disappointed.”
Les – November 2013 – Facebook